Skincare, Sun Protection

Country & Stream Honey UV Water Gel (SPF 50+, PA ++++)

Photo 2017-05-07 15 38 06
Country & Stream Honey UV Water Gel

Updated on 10 May 2017 to include information regarding Country & Stream’s parent company.


I was on the hunt for a lightweight yet non-drying sunscreen, and this product has been generating rave reviews on Reddit.  Since I know that my skin reacts well to honey, I grabbed this sunscreen when I passed it in the store.


General Information

Country & Stream Honey UV Water Gel (SPF 50+, PA ++++) is an ethanol-free and paraben-free sunscreen containing both organic and inorganic filters.  It costs JPY 972 for 45 g of product.  Country & Stream is produced by IDA Laboratories.


Ingredients

As seen on Country & Stream’s website:

Water, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, propanediol, diethylamino hydroxybenzoyl hexyl benzoate, zinc oxide, methyl laurate heptyl, titanium oxide, dimethicone, honey, royal jelly, hydrolysed collagen, solubilised collagen, sodium hyaluronate, hydrolysed hyaluronic acid, sodium acetyl hyaluronate, marshmallow root extract, chamomile flower extract, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, jojoba leaf extract, lavender flower extract, rosemary leaf extract, Alchemilla japonica leaf extract, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, cyclopentasiloxane, (acrylic hydroxyethylmethacrylate / sodium acryloyldimethyltaurinate) copolymer, diisostearyl malate, aluminium hydroxide, PEG-60 hydrogenated castor oil, stearic acid, phenoxyethanol, polyglyceryl-3 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, polyhydroxy stearic acid, jojoba esters, fragrance, xanthan gum, butylene glycol, arginine, phytic acid, silver oxide.

Do note that this sunscreen contains fragrance.


 

Country and Stream Honey UV Water Gel

The Honey UV Water Gel is a yellow-tinged white gel that is slightly creamy in texture.  The gel melts readily on the skin, and is absorbed rapidly.

The sunscreen has a medium-strength fragrance of sweetened herbs and citrus upon application, with a top note that resembles lemongrass.  Within 10 to 15 minutes, the top notes dissipate, leaving a sweet, slightly soapy lemon-and-honey accord that stays very close to the skin.

The finish is on the dewy side, and this dewiness lasts throughout the wear time.  Finish preference varies, but personally, I find myself wishing the Honey UV Water Gel is slightly less shiny.  I am not a fan of shine on my chin and T-zone.  I imagine this sunscreen would look great under base makeup, giving you a subtle glow.  On its own, however, it tends to make me reach for my powder compact.  I do not detect any white cast on my NC20-25 skin (never formally matched).

Although this is a lightweight sunscreen, along the line of Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence, I find it moisturising enough on my dry-leaning skin that I need to skip my usual moisturiser on more humid days; otherwise, I would feel slightly greasy.  I am all for minimising my routine, so I would put this as a plus.

Overall, this is a very commendable sunscreen: it is lightweight, moisturising, and affordable.  Unfortunately, it does contain fragrance, is neither waterproof nor sebum-resistant, and whether its finish is a good or a bad thing is highly subjective.  I would highly recommend this sunscreen for consideration if you are looking for a non-drying sunscreen option.


Note

Unfortunately, this sunscreen made me break out, and I had to replace it with another sunscreen.  I have since pinpointed royal jelly extract as the culprit.  This is my personal incompatibility with the product, and should not affect any assessment of the sunscreen’s quality.

Leave a comment